Building Futures Awards Finalists 2018!

Building Futures Awards

Hertfordshire Building Control congratulates the twelve finalists in the Hertfordshire Building Futures Awards 2018.

Hertfordshire Building Control is proud to be headline sponsor of this year’s Hertfordshire Building Futures Awards.  Recognising exceptional buildings and sustainable developments across Hertfordshire, twelve schemes have been shortlisted as finalists, with winning schemes being announced at a prestigious awards ceremony on 4th October at Knebworth House.


Project of the Year – St Albans Museum and Gallery, St Albans Cathedral and Cassiobury Hub in Watford.

Building Futures Awards

Design Excellence – Cassiobury Hub in Watford, The Deerings in Harpenden, 29 Firs Walk in Tewin, Artworks in Hitchin, Garden Avenue and Furzen Crescent in Hatfield, Tudor Way in Hertford, The Reserve in Waltham Cross and The New Science Building at the University of Hertfordshire.
Building Futures Awards

Retrofit for the Future – AppleTree Farmhouse in Chorleywood and St Albans Museum and Gallery.

Building Futures Awards

Most Sustainable Construction – Johnson Court in West Dene, Cassiobury Hub in Watford, The New Science Building at the University of Hertfordshire and The Deerings in Harpenden.

Building Futures Awards


Now in its tenth year, these biennial Awards, hosted by the Building Futures Partnership, celebrate sustainability, innovation and design excellence in Hertfordshire.  There are four award categories, namely Project of the Year, Design Excellence, Retrofit for the Future and Most Sustainable Construction.

The Headline Sponsor of the 2018 Awards is Hertfordshire Building Control, who carry out building control services on behalf of seven local authorities in Hertfordshire.  Simon Heywood from Hertfordshire Building Control comments “Hertfordshire Building Control is committed to improving the quality of buildings for our customers and our communities.  We work closely with many excellent designers, architects, developers and builders who share our values and strive to deliver on behalf of their customers innovative, sustainable and inspiring buildings.  Where excellence is achieved we believe we should celebrate it.   We therefore take great pleasure in sponsoring this awards ceremony.”

With a high number of entries and stiff competition, Jon Rowland, from the judging panel, comments “Hertfordshire is one of the few counties to reward good design and is, therefore, to be congratulated. This year we, the judges, were struck by the high quality of submissions. They are all different in character and scale; but they show that good design teams can achieve a better quality of development that is robust, functional and beautiful. Something we should all aim for.”


12 Finalists 

St Albans Museum in St Albans – St Albans City & District Council

St Albans Cathedral in St Albans – Richards Griffiths Architect

Cassiobury Hub in Watford – Knox Bhavan Architects

The Deerings, Harpenden – Gresford Architects

29 Firs Walk, Tewin – IDL Architecture

Artworks, Hitchin – Stride Treglown

Garden Avenue Hatfield – Rock Townsend

Furzen Crescent – Rock Townsend

Tudor Way, Hertford – Alan Camp Architects and Network Homes

The Reserve, Waltham Cross – Higgins Homes

New Science Building, University of Hertfordshire – Sheppard Robson

Apple Tree Farmhouse, Chorleywood – Roger Mears Architects

Johnson Court, West Dene – DP Architects


For more information about the Awards and other Building Futures’ initiatives, please visit  


About Us

We oversee Building Control for many local councils based in the UK - with a focus on helping both individuals and larger companies to achieve great building results safely.

Guidance Notes

We offer building control services that help you to adhere to UK building regulations - have a look at our guidance notes here for further help.